Clarence P. White III, Receives MPA Principal’s Award

Baileyville – Clarence (Clay) White, son of Clarence and Julie White of Brookton Township and a senior at Woodland Jr/Sr High School, has been selected to receive the 2013 Principal’s Award, Principal Patricia Metta announced today.  The award, sponsored by the Maine Principals’ Association, is given in recognition of a high school senior’s academic achievement and citizenship.

Metta states that Clay is an exceptionally strong student with superior academic strengths. Clay is currently first in his class standing and has been the recipient of overall/highest achievement awards in most subject areas. Clay has been on high honors since his freshman year and always takes the most rigorous courses we offer. Clay has natural academic talent, but also has a strong work ethic. Clay has received the Bauch and Lomb Honorary Science Award, the Phi Beta Kappa Certificate of Recognition and the Dartmouth Book Award all during his junior year. Clay’s intellect and achievement point to a bright and promising future. 

Clay is active in both athletic and academic activities. Clay has been a member of both the varsity soccer and tennis teams, and was recognized as a Downeast Athletic Conference All-star in tennis during his junior year. Clay also is a member of the math team, and has participated in student government by holding the positions of class president and class representative on the student council during his tenth and eleventh grade years. 

Clay is well liked by peers and adults and will go far in whatever endeavor he chooses. His innate intellectual ability and desire to excel will serve him well as he pursues biological engineering at the University of Maine at Orono.

Clay White and Principal Patricia Metta along with other award winners and their principals will attend an Honors Luncheon at the Spectacular Events Center in Bangor on Saturday, April 6, 2012 at 12:30 p.m. 

The Honors Luncheon recognizes these outstanding students of the Class of 2013 with the presentation of an individual plaque and the awarding of five $1,000 scholarships in the names of Horace O. McGowan and Richard W. Tyler.  Mr. McGowan and Mr. Tyler were former Maine principals and Executive Directors of the Maine Principals’ Association. 

The Principal’s Award is presented in more than 100 Maine public and private high schools by member principals of the MPA, the professional association which represents Maine’s school administrators.

Congratulations Clay!