WaCo Democrats to Caucus March 4 in Five Locations


By Nancy Beal


The Washington County Democrats will hold caucuses throughout the county on Sunday, March 4. The purpose of the caucuses is to elect delegates and alternates to the state convention (May 18-20 in Lewiston), to elect local Democratic party leaders, to learn about the 2018 races, and to boost grassroots efforts. Each town will caucus on its own but, because of the size of the Sunrise County, caucus goers will gather at five centralized locations throughout the county.

Starting at 1 p.m. in Columbia Falls, Democrats will come together at the offices of Wreaths Across America in the former elementary school. Towns caucusing there include Addison, Beals, Cherryfield, Columbia, Columbia Falls, Harrington, Jonesboro, Jonesport, Marshfield, Milbridge, Roque Bluffs, Steuben and Whitneyville. The convener will be Nicholas MacDonald.

At 2 p.m. in the Whiting Town office at 169 U.S. Route 1 in Whiting, Helena Schnieders will act as convener for the towns of Cutler, Dennysville, East Machias, Edmunds Township, Lubec, Machias, Machiasport and Whiting.

Wesley Elementary School will be the 3:30 gathering place for folks from Alexander, Beddington, Cooper, Crawford, Deblois, Northfield and Wesley. Conveners are Lori Cole and Richard Lamasney.

The Robbinston Community Center (the old school) is the site for caucus goers from Baileyville, Baring Plantation, Calais, Charlotte, Eastport, Meddybemps, Pembroke, Perry, Robbinston and the Pleasant Point voting district. Caucusing begins at 5 p.m. under the direction of convener Andrew Pratt.

At 6 p.m., Topsfield will host the last caucus of the day at the Topsfield town office for Democrats from Big Lake, Brookton and Indian Township, Codyville and Grand Lake Stream Plantations, Danforth, Princeton, Talmadge, Topsfield, Vanceboro and Waite. Jonathan Goble will convene.

Doors at all venues will open a half hour before the caucus, at which time folks who are not registered to vote will be able to do so. Anyone living in a community not listed under one of the five locations above should attend the caucus for the town where they normally vote. Anyone with questions should contact their convener, or Washington County Democratic Committee Chairman Jonathan Goble at 546-2722.

In case of snow, the caucuses will be held on March 11.